Express Entry

Express Entry Program Begins January 2015

The express entry category for Canadian permanent residence will begin in January 2015. The details of the new category are not entirely public yet, but we will provide the most current information available.

Firstly, the Express Entry category is an application for permanent residence that uses an online system though the government website. The goal is to increase processing times and to better select immigrants who will contribute to the Canadian labour market.

Are You Eligible for Express Entry to Canada?

The Express Entry system will be applicable to the following immigrant categories:

  • The Federal Skilled Worker Program
  • The Federal Skilled Trades Program
  • The Canadian Experience Class

2 Steps in Express Entry Immigration Process

Step 1: Complete an Online Profile

You will need to complete an online Express Entry profile. This is basically a questionnaire which will ask for information pertaining to your eligibility, such as:

  • Skills
  • Work experience
  • Language ability
  • Education

If you meet these requirements, your application will be placed in a pool of other candidates and you will be ranked according to various criteria, including whether you have a job offer.

However, you can still rank without a job offer. If you do not have a job offer or a Provincial Nomination, you will have to register with the Government of Canada’s Job Bank, which will direct you to eligible Canadian employers.

Step 2: Citizenship and Immigration Canada Invites You To Apply

Once you complete your online profile, if you rank in the top of your pool, you will be receive an invitation to apply for permanent residence in Canada.

Those who have a valid job offer from a Canadian employer or Provincial or Territorial Nomination will be given high scores in the ranking system.

Once you have been invited to apply for permanent residence, you will have sixty (60) days to submit your electronic application under one of the following programs:

  • Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP)
  • Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP)
  • Canadian Experience Class (CEC)
  • A portion of the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)